Back Seat Cosmetologists

Yet another pet peeve can be explained with this sentence: “Well my mom / sister / uncle / neighbor / dog, etc. does hair, so I know what I’m talking about.”

Did you go to cosmetology school? Did you learn the science behind color theory or the chemistry involved in giving a perm? Did you log 1500 hours and send hundreds of dollars to the state to get a license in cosmetology?

No? Then you don’t know what you’re talking about, and that’s why you are paying to sit in my chair.

I’m not saying you are completely ignorant, but I really do know best. I especially know best when it comes to the products we use in the salon – the kind you can’t get unless you’re a licensed cosmetologist.

Case in point: A lady came in today wanting her hair washed and styled with a curling iron. She said “whenever I do it, the curls don’t stay.” So I washed her hair and prepared to put some curl product in her hair. But the lady stopped me. “Don’t use any products. I don’t trust them. My mom does hair, so …”

1. Well I know why the curl doesn’t stay in your hair. You need product. Clean hair does not hold a style. Science!

2. What does your mom doing hair have to do with anything?

Luckily I was able to convince her into another style and she let me put just a tiny bit of product in it so it would stay. Or at least until she can have Mommy fix it.

Speak up!

