trained

A lady came to get her hair cut, and she was in a wheelchair. While we did our thing, her husband waited patiently in the lobby, obviously used to accompanying her on errands. Suddenly she remembered that she had left the coupon in the car.

“Ed! Go get me that coupon. It’s in the car somewhere!”

She didn’t say it in a mean way, or bitchy at all, but he obediently put down his newspaper and walked out, without saying a word. I remarked on it, finding it odd that he didn’t even say “ok” or “yes dear.”

“After 43 years, he knows better. This is why I could never get rid of him. Even if I wanted to, I’m too old to start over. I’ve got him just how I like him.”

Hopefully it was a symbiotic relationship and they were both happy.

 

 

Speak up!

