yellow hair

As I brought a man up to the register to pay after his haircut, his blonde 4-year old son saw my rainbow hair and just stood there, mouth agape. His father said “Do you like her hair? Is that how you want yours?” The son just nodded, still motionless and speechless.

“He was actually just telling me on the way over here that he is sick of his yellow hair and he wants it to be rainbow.”

I bent down next to him and said “I was sick of my yellow hair too!” I don’t think he knew that it was possible to actually have rainbow hair, because even as his father carried him out the door, the boy still stared at me, wide-eyed and speechless. I’m pretty sure I blew that kid’s mind, simply by existing.

Speak up!

