Secret haircut

A lot of times when I ask “what are we doing to your hair today?” The response will be something like “I want it shorter.” I roll my eyes, because duh, and then work out the details. Recently I got a slightly different answer though.

“I want a haircut, but I don’t want it to look like I got a haircut.”

I wasn’t sure what that meant, so I asked him to clarify. He said he was going to a wedding in a few days, and he knows how fresh haircuts look in pictures.  He didn’t want that.

I assured him that as soon as he washes his hair, the edges will lose that sharpness that give that “fresh haircut” look. I kept it to myself that I’ve never heard someone complain that a wedding guest had a fresh haircut. Then I found out that he was the photographer for the wedding. Generally they don’t appear in the pictures at all, by definition. But, I cut his hair just a little and reminded him to wash it, and he seemed satisfied.

Speak up!

